Referencing selected subset name MDX of a different dimension

Hi,
I was wondering if any knew a way to capture the name of a subset for reference in an IIF MDX expression on an unrelated dimension.

For example:
Say I have the “FIN OCoA” account dimension on the rows of my view and I set “Enable Subset Selection” to ON for this dimension. My users will now have the ability to select between “Profit and Loss” and “Balance Sheet” subsets, and accounts will update accordingly on rows without issue.

My users have however asked for selected “GL Measure” to change when they change the account subset. They want the view to read from “Closing Balance” if they select “Balance Sheet” subset, and the measure to instead point to “Movement” when they select the “Profit and Loss” subset.

Is there any way to get a handle to the selected Account Subset value so that I can reference it in an IIF MDX statement on the “GL Measure” dimension?

Also… I’m very new to ApliqoUX so was wondering if there’s any documentation I can refer to which details the settings service variables available to me and the syntax for using them?

Thanks!

Hi,
We typically cover those things in an initial training and provide examples with the UX demo application - it might be worthwhile reserve some time with your consultant to do a crash course to get you up to speed. There is also the documentation of the advanced options with examples embedded in the application (I suppose you have seen this already). We should add to this documentation a cheat sheet on the usage of MDX placeholders - thanks for the suggestion!

Anyways, what you want to do is possible - the syntax for the placeholder would be:
$<<ApliqoFPM.FIN OCoA.FIN OCoA Subset>>

The general syntax is: <<instance.dimension.hierarchy>>, e.g. <<ApliqoFPM.FIN OCoA.FIN OCoA>> (which returns the principal name of a selection) and further options are shown as examples for the FIN OCoA dimension: